Aah, 3rd post - better introduce myself!

DJStrange

Sorry I skipped this bit and dived straight into the depths of "solid-state restoration", followed by some "car-audio-as-main-system"...!

Hello to you all, long time lurker from Lancashire UK.

I'm an Engineering Surveyor/Setting Out Engineer and CAD Technician for a living, but I'd best describe myself as a jack-of-all-trades, being interested in mucking about fixing things and solving problems from a very young age. First project was making a bike light out of a couple of D batteries taped to some bits of wires and a couple of Scalectrix bulbs - things haven't really moved on from there much lol!

Then I used to build Velleman and Maplin kit amplifiers through my late teens early twenties (one of which I still have in working order, some 20 years old...).

Then I bought lots of vinyl and used to record mix tapes on chrome cassettes, then mini-disc for my mates, something which I still enjoy now that I've afforded some Technics 1210MK2, but now I use time-control vinyl and mix MP3/FLAC. Still have a tape deck though and some "master" mixes. Also still have a Sony MZR-37 minidisk recorder and loads of minidiscs! I still have all my vinyl too, mostly late 90's early 2000's drum & bass (Good Looking Records, Metalheadz, Cadence etc).

Then I got into cars, classic Minis, classic Vauxhalls, an Audi S8 and then I got nostalgic for an 80/81 Mini Van which is waiting to be restored this year once I've taught myself how to weld and finished buying panels and paint... there's a link to the project-to-be if anybody's interested in that...

Just about to embark on a restoration of my faithful old Technics SU-8080 which has been with me for around 20 years so I've been very interested in lots of old and new articles in the solid state forums. Digi-key are about to send me some Panasonic THA caps, some MJ21193/94 transistors and an obsolete protection relay - I might start a thread here once this kicks off.