Adding Pre out/Amp in

schaale

I want to add pre out and amp ins to my Sansui QRX-7001 so I can use the 7001 amp plus add an sub amp. Coming out of the front pre I will be putting a Y adapter. One will go to the sub amp amd the other from the Y will go to the 7001 amp in. In doing this will it cause any sound problems orload problems to the Sansui splitting the signal like that?

Running preamp section outputs in parallel will usually cause no harm. The fact that you ask the question suggests that you're not a technician/engineer. If this is the case I'd be very careful about doing this.

If I'm incorrect or out of line I apologize.

Sansui QRX-7001 pre outs

No i'm not an engineer/technician just learning for fun. I'm working on a Sansui QRX-7001 that I want to add the pre outs to. From looking at the schematics it looks like I would take the 4 wires that go from the 2428 board to the 2436 driver boards. I would take the wires from the 2428 board to the RCA pre outs , then go from the amp in RCA to the 2436boards. Does that sound right?

I'm not familiar with your specific Sansui model, so I don't know which - if any - of these will work for you, but I'll throw them out there anyway.

Most powered subs (which I assume you're referring to since you're planning on using a line level input) have BOTH a line level input jack as well as speaker (hi level) inputs and outputs.

If your amp has two or more sets of speaker outputs and it also has the ability to use more than one set of speakers at a time, hook up one set of speaker outputs to the sub's hi level speaker input terminals.

Another option would be to run a set of speaker wires from the amp to the sub's speaker inputs and then run wires from the sub's speaker outputs to your regular speakers.

The last possibility is to feed the sub's line level input from the headphone jack. I've done this before, with what I'd consider to be quite satisfactory results.