Advice for rewiring Klipsch Cornwalls

efhjr

Can you be more specific?
I opened my 1977 Klipsch Cornwalls, yesterday just to peek around and get an idea of what shape the wires and such were in. I don't think the speakers had ever been opened before, and I was surprised at how dead-simple it all was in there.

It got me to thinking that it'd be dead-simple to replace and upgrade the wiring and binding posts. I'd appreciate advice and opinions about good wire, hardware, and so on for doing this -- those spades have got to go. They sound so good with the stock wire, I can't help but wonder how much better they'll be with pure, single-strand copper or silver.

I think that after the wire's replaced I'll start thinking about rebuilding the crossover. But that's gonna take some time -- I'm still a newbie with a soldering iron.

I wouldn't recommend rewiring unless you have some obvious deficiency. If you do choose to rewire, I would recommend reversible modifications... like it or not, the original Klipsch "Heritage" speakers are collector's items now and will be even more so in the future... and they'll be worth more unmolested. Sorry to be so mercenary :) See also my comment at the bottom of this post.

Before attacking the wiring, have you damped the horns (esp. the MR horn)? If not, that's a good place to start on sonic improvements.

Since the back of the Cornwall is nothing but a big (unbraced) piece of plywood with (at least on my 1974's) a barrier terminal strip, I have been seriously considering making a new, externally braced back with "modern" speaker connectors (dual 5-way jacks). At that point, why, yes, I would probably replace the wiring from the back to the XO, for neatness' sake.

IIRC all the wiring inside my Cornwalls have spade lug terminations, so rewiring could be done in an "environmentally friendly" way.

Several Possibilities