Advice needed: How to connect computer to Yamaha RX-V757?

summerdance

Hey there! I'm pretty fresh in the audio world and I'm just getting started in building home set-up. I have a pair of Monitor Bronze 3 speakers already and an HP Pavillion x360 for my music (I have a massive lossless digital library). I just need a receiver/DAC.

There is a Yamaha RX-V757 for sale on my local Craigslist for $100, which is a pretty decent price. However, what is the best way to hook up my computer to the receiver to get the best sound out of it? There is no USB or HDMI connections on the RX-V757. My other two options would be: 1) analog-analog, which I don't want to do because I'd lose sound quality or 2) via Toslink (digital headphone jack to optical), which I'm not even sure my computer supports. Any one know whether HPs have digital headphone jacks? Help please!

EDIT: If I can't hook up my computer to the Yamaha via Toslink, I'll be ISO a different receiver. Suggestions very much welcome! Thanks!

I have an outboard DAC hooked up to my computer via USB 2.0. From the DAC, connections are made to analog equipment using TRS audio cable. There are number of different ways to skin your audio cat, though. I would just recommend AGAINST using the integrated audio chip in your computer to make an analog connection, for reasons you've, no doubt, already discovered.

Last edited:
Snag an Apple AirPort Express off the bay for $15. Hook it up to your receiver via optical ($3) or RCA (free, in your spare parts box). Stream your library to the AirPort via Wifi or hardwired Ethernet using Apple iTunes (free) and let the Yammy's DAC do the conversion (optical) or have the AirPort do it (RCA). Happy listening. NB: iTunes only supports up to CD quality in Apple's ALAC format, so hi-res is out.

Last edited: