Affordable small speakers to look out for.

Discussion in 'Pioneer Audio' started by SX550, Jul 8, 2018.

1. SX550

SX550 Well-Known Member

Still using the old Logitech set i got as a kid but i want to wire up some bookshelves on the SX-5570 to put on my IKEA MICKE desk.

Pioneer made a whole bunch but i have no experience with the small ones.
    Occasionally even see them pop up at goodwill, so which ones should i take a look out for ?

Thanks !

Please register to disable this ad.

2. 0Hz

0Hz Active Member

The only bookshelf sized model I am familiar with are the Pioneer S-500X speakers I recently got for free (one came really damaged in the back) but I think they sound pretty good. They are not what I would consider "small" though. They can be pricey if you find them too.

As for other bookshelf speakers, people often recommend Advent Mini speakers, Mirage, some Boston Acoustics like I think the A40, A60, etc.

I can tell you if you like your low end you are gonna want to get an active/powered subwoofer to go with them depending on the kind of music you listen to. A reasonably sized bookshelf set with ports might help out and let you avoid going for the sub unless you really need it also.

3. 4-2-7

4-2-7 Smart Ass Sponsor Subscriber

4. welcomdmat

welcomdmat AK Subscriber Subscriber

There are the CS-33a speakers. I have not had the chance to hear a pair.

I find the look as attractive as it is polarizing.

5. SX550

SX550 Well-Known Member

cs-33a are a little too big for a MICKE desk :p

welcomdmat likes this.
  6. 0Hz

0Hz Active Member

idk I think you're gonna be hard pressed to find anything decent that will fit on that desk with the receiver. What are we talking width wise, for the desk and receiver? Is the receiver gonna sit elsewhere?

You could type "Pioneer Bookshelf Speakers" into ebay and go to town looking through them, find something you like and check its dimensions. Come back with a list of several candidates?