Akai Reel to Reel help needed

Endeavor02

Recently my Akai Reel to Reel 1820d's audio has been fading in and out while the VU meter stays . This started happening recently but other than use it I can't think of anything I've done to it that would cause this problem and considering it's been functional for the past winter I'm starting to think it's a temperature caused issue now that it's warming up here.

I've disassembled the whole thing and replaced a capacitor (I had hoped was the problem but did nothing) but I haven't been able to find some of the things in the manual like the "POWER AMP. P.C. BOARD RC-589" although I think this is due to the manual being shared with the 1820 and 1820d.

I'm brand new to Audio DIY and any help would be greatly appreciated :)
20180510_163727.jpg 20180510_163729.jpg 20180510_163737.jpg 20180510_163740.jpg 20180510_163750.jpg 20180510_163756.jpg 20180510_163839.jpg 20180510_163727.jpg

Yea these machines are very complex.

You would first need to determine whether the "fading out" is mechanical or component related. Ie: is it happening as the tape is intermittently losing contact with the tape head?

Does the problem happen in both channels? Does it happen more once the unit has been running for a period of time?

Yea these machines are very complex.

You would first need to determine whether the "fading out" is mechanical or component related. Ie: is it happening as the tape is intermittently losing contact with the tape head?

Does the problem happen in both channels? Does it happen more once the unit has been running for a period of time?
The VU meter consistently shows audio and you can hear in a very low volume with a lot of static when it fades out so I was thinking it was the amplifier card inside.

We need to see a schematic to see what's between the Vumeter signal and the output jack. you know the signal at the meter is OK.

Last edited: