Akai SW-156 speaker repair advice needed

Bert Beukema

Hi guys,

I was gifted these speakers, they are in pristine condition and only need a slight cabinet overhaul. Some new cloth, a bit of veneer repair and removing wood staining and they will be beautiful.

There's just one issue: one of these speakers is not working. These speakers have four 8 ohm drivers: 1) a huge bass driver, 2) a driver for the mids, 3) a tweeter and 4) a super tweeter. The sound, unrestored, from the working speaker is really nice (attached to an Akai 930). On the speaker that is not working it seems that only the mid driver is working; all other drivers don't produce any sound. Doesn't matter what type of wire I try or what amplifier; problem remains.

Now i'll gladly admit to being a complete novice to speaker repairs. I've obviously done some restoration work on newer speakers but the circuit on these is very rudimentary.

Before I do anything i'd like to have some advice on how to approach the speaker. What is common sense? How can I determine whether the drivers are dead? In the case of the big bass driver, it is based on a heavy rubber band (no foam), perhaps the rubber has become too hard?

Any advice is welcome, it would be a shame if these speakers don't get a chance to shine again!

Regards,

Bert

Attachments

• hfe_akai_sw-156_circuit_diagram_en.pdf
    155.3 KB · Views: 28
Easy - test all your drivers first for continuity. If they are good, drench the level adjustment pots with deoxit and work them a zillion times. After that, consider replacing replacing the electolytic capacitors which are likely dried out by now.

Good luck, let's see some pics :)