Aligning Cartage with Overhang gauge, Getting High end distortion

xxtensazenxx

First off:
Turntable: Technics SL-23
Cartage: Pickering XSV 3000

I started vinyl a few years ago with a humble Audio Technica LP-60, which is quickly outgrew. So I upgraded to what I have now, A Technics SL-23. I had to get it repaired so I never bothered with Aligning or tracking force, I just left it how the AV shop guy did... But I wanted to learn, so I went to re-setting the table. So Suffice it to say I'm a bit of a newbie so please bear with me.

Tracking force was easy, but I'm stuck on Aligning it... I tried the Stevenson protractor, but I was struggling... so I bought an original Technics 52mm Overhang gauge (which after research on the forum I found I was good to use it). I got my needle lined up pretty good I think?
bunEgUb.jpg

But im now getting A LOT of distortion on the higher end, and S's....

I never had this issue before....

I then realized the cartage is not really centered (if that makes a difference) and no matter how hard I tried it just would not. The... clamps? "plastic bits", whatever they're called, that mount the cartage to the shell keep moving and going crooked when I tighten the screws. Is this normal?
gDS2xdL.jpg

So at this point I really dont know what to do...What do you guys think my best course of action is?
Also any suggestions for a new turntable? lol

Thanks so much in advanced

I have been through all that.
In the end (after much research and hours reading various forums) I bought a Mo Fi Geo Disc.
Should have done that years ago.
I am not going to go through the details but look it up and see what you think.

I have the MoFi Geodisc. Just installed a SoundSmith Aida cartridge. First install I ever did. Scared the Hell out of me, but it worked. I have since tried other protractors to tweak things, and can't better the Geodisc. Pretty simple thing, but it works.