1. Time for some upgrades in server hardware and software to enhance security and take AK to the next level. Please contribute what you can to sales@audiokarma.org at PayPal.com - Thanks from the AK Team
    Dismiss Notice

Allen Organ Model 90 Ultralinear Taps?? Any Ideas

Discussion in 'Tube Audio' started by Scripted, Oct 12, 2018.

1. Scripted

Scripted New Member

I recently picked up a pair of allen 90's and now in a quandary. Do I refresh the existing circuit or make use of the ultralinear taps on the huge output transformer? I am still a novice and would value any feedback you have !!!

Since I am planning on using these for my primary tube hifi system some of the questions I have:

- Are there more advantages by incorporating the ultraliner (UL) taps?

- What would be the best way to switch over to utilize the UL taps?

- Would I need to drop the B+ voltage by about 100v (from 580v to 480v) to accomodate the anode and screens?

- Does the bias voltage have to be changed from -35v to say -70v?
    Allen Organ Model 90.jpg
    The amps I have are similar to the schematic however they do not have a 5k pot in the the bias circuit and the bias circuit extends to what I think is the 6SN7 driver stage, right before the KT-88s (entering the 6SN7's by the ground and 510k resistors which ultimately bridge pins 1,4,6 and 3)

These seem like they could be sweet amps but I cannot find any information let alone modification advice about them.

Please register to disable this ad.

2. kward

kward AK Subscriber Subscriber

The Tung Sol 6550 datasheet says max screen voltage when screen is connected to a tap on output transformer is 500V, whereas the GE data sheet says 450V. I know of several commercial amps that use 6550's in UL mode that exceed that at 515V or so (5% to 15% overage). But exceeding it by 30%? I wouldn't do it.