(Amp fault) Diagnose this noise? 7 second video

sj.brodie

Amp is a NAD3020i, an upgrade to my entry level cambridge however definitely now a vintage model.

This noise occurs only occasionally in the left channel. Seems mainly vocals and higher frequencies are broken up with distortion before returning to normal. Interestingly, I've connected the amp's "rec out" to a Line In on my sound card and recordings made on my computer pick up no disturbance from the amp's output at all. The distortion occurs through speakers and the headphone jack. It is periodical, not persistent. Also I have a feeling I notice it more shortly after switching the amp on and/or adjusting volume (seems to work perfect during uninterrupted long runs)

I'm no expert so I did have a technician look at it with a solder iron when I bought it. He said he could detect no problems but did suggest rotating the pots occasionally which can get dirty.

Take a look at the video and let me hear thoughts on this. Could the problem simply be dirty pots? I hope so since I really love this amp. My first quality entry level...thanks guys

Last edited:
ads are not mine, my youtube isn't even monetized, just looking for an answer
The links are written into your content, which sure looks like link spam. Why are "headphones" and "be" written as links to eBay and a clothing site?

Did you originally post somewhere else and copy your post to here?

The links are written into your content, which sure looks like link spam. Why are "headphone jack" and "be" written as links to eBay and a clothing site?

Did you originally post somewhere else and copy your post to here?

Thanks for raising that. I posted this to AV forums originally and copy and pasted the content. Sounds like it could be adware in my browser though, I honestly don't know why or how the adverts were written in. I've managed to remove them