An Aspiring DJ need help

DJ white plague

Hey I'm new to the whole scene and am now trying to get a decent DJ setup to begin. I have some good software but need help with hardware. At the moment i have a JVC L-A31 turn table some boston speakers and a Realistic SA-155 amp.
I'm hoping to get a duel turntable setup to scratch. I need hints on how much money im looking at spending, what is good and what is bad, and just help in general. I really apreciate it.

names erich and im pretty young so spelling errors may occur :deadhorse

EDIT: I see you meant a two-turntable setup, not "Dual" as in the manufacturer :)

You may be better off in a DJ forum, most of us around here specialize in hi-fi (and most certainly wouldn't scratch on a Dual!!) For a basic DJ set up, expect to spend about a grand - two Technics 1200 turntables are a must, avoid cheaper "DJ" brand DJ tables like Numark and Gemini if you're serious. Stanton is making some good products these day, some that are rivaling Technics in the DJ field. Get yourself some decent cartridges (again, Stanton is pretty good in this field) and invest in some good headphones (Sony's top of the line models work well, don't use hi-fi cans for club work, though).

Good luck to you.
-Ben

Last edited:
I used to DJ with decks first with Turntables and then with CD decks but now I do it with my computer (laptop) a couple of external drives and a Hercules controler and software.

Here is the controler and software sites and some picks.

Hercules

Much cheeper this way and your vinyl and cd's are safe at home.

I think Grumpy has a pair of Stantons, STR-60's, with straight 6" arms, and Stanton carts, for pretty reasonable money. I heard one, and it played pretty well, considering what it was. Not cosmetically perfect, but it worked well.

That might be a good place for you to start looking, for a table. You could pm him.

Oh, and one other thing, Grumpy KNOWS how to pack, for safe shipping.