Another dumb question from an old school idiot...

veroman

I imagine the answer is already buried in these pages but here goes... i Have an SET amp, a cdp and a Cambridge audio DAC. If I wanted an inexpensive(!) way to get my cd's and future music onto digital files what should i do. Cheap pc? I am new to this server business and its hard to get sound advice. Thanks friends. Also I am not MAC friendly fwiw

A cheap PC with a CD or DVD drive . I use an old laptop I bought on Craig's List. To rip your CD's you need software and the CD drive. Then you need a media player or media server software. I use Plex, but many prefer JRiver. I have around 750 CDs stored on around 200 GB hard disk space.

The PC can be connected to your DAC via USB cable, if you are not already using that input on the DAC. Your CA DAC can switch between digital inputs.

It doesn't need a high performance PC to rip. It does need a fast CD drive; you will want a modern, SATA, 40+ times CD drive, to give you an average rip speed of 25-30x.

Rip to lossless, whatever you do. FLAC is a good choice. I would also suggest you organise your physical storage to reflect the physical discs:

Artist/Album/Track# Title

There are many options for how to rip, tag & organise your music. I use EAC for ripping and MediaMonkey or MusicBee for organising/playing, but there are plenty of other options. MM and MB will also rip.

Then you need storage; this can be a HDD local to the ripping machine, or a NAS, or a HDD on your router, providing a poor man's NAS.

Once you have ripped and tagged your music, there are a huge number of choices as to how to get your music to your hifi.

And you are right; there are plenty of threads here on how to do this.

Yup....get a PC with a CD/DVD drive and a good size HD (or get a separate stand alone HD), some ripping software (I use dbpoweramp cdripper), a music playing software (I use JRiver) & a USB cable to go between the PC & the DAC.