Any love for mini bikes?

BadassBob

Digitally rendered
I've been messing around with them for a couple of years now and having a lot of fun. A friend of mine gave me a Motovox that he bought new for his daughter. She was scared of it, so I traded him some unused stereo gear and got to swapping the anemic 79cc 2.5HP engine for a Predator 212 Hemi from Harbor Freight. Mods are a Mod2 cam, Mikuni 22mm slide carb, 0.010 head gasket, ARC billet connecting rod, ARC billet flywheel, billet lifters, chromemoly pushrods, 26lb valve springs, and a 3 step header. It spins to 8,000rpm and 61mph with me (173lb) on it and a 75 tooth sprocket in the front and a 13 tooth on the clutch. Now I'm thinking of finding an old Ruttman or Taco and putting a genuine Honda GX200 on it all hopped up.

xiSFFSv.jpg

SX5CVOr.jpg

60mph on that thing?! I'd look just like your avatar if I tried that.

With a brain bucket of course :D. There are a few in my area that have gone over 100MPH, one of them hit 119MPH in the 8th mile at the drag strip a couple of weeks ago.

That is very cool. What's the handling like? Must be good if you are comfortable at 60 mph. I have been thinking about a mini-bike, but haven't done any research yet. What would you be looking at if you did not have one already?

I had one of these in my younger days, Rupp Roadster II. Mine was brown, had about an acre lot to ride it on.

17148c3271912ddbdf571c1b7a414e82.jpg

l
That is very cool. What's the handling like? Must be good if you are comfortable at 60 mph. I have been thinking about a mini-bike, but haven't done any research yet. What would you be looking at if you did not have one already?