Anyone for a quick round of "Guess the Manufacturer?"

dickard

Okay... I know a few things about this tuner, such as the name that's on the front and the fact that it was made in Japan. I'm not going to share any other information right away. Any guesses?

As you can see, it needs a new battery.

This is my first attempt at linking photos in my post so please be patient.

Rich

By the way it's sitting in that metal frame and the extenders on the switches just sez Luxman, it's a 5T50 and I'm sticking with that.

Last edited:
Holst said:
By the way it's sitting in that metal frame and the extenders on the switches just sez Luxman, it's a 5T50 and I'm sticking with that.

I was originally thinking that it was a 5T50 as well, because all of the switch gear is Alps, but then I saw the picture of the Luxman:

5T50inside.jpg

The two don't look very similar at all. :no:

Rich

Oh, for the heck of it, I'll guess a NAD. With the blue ladders, I also suspect an Adcom.

It has a decent 5-gang FM front end for sure. Would have been better if the board was laid out properly.

Reminds me of Akai but I'll go with Onkyo.

Last edited:
The ICs say LA... that's a Sanyo number. The tuner says LA on it, could be a Sanyo also. That Luxman is built like a piece of spacecraft hardware!

dr*audio said:
The ICs say LA... that's a Sanyo number. The tuner says LA on it, could be a Sanyo also. That Luxman is built like a piece of spacecraft hardware!

That Luxman has a lot of circuitry, that's for sure. Amazing for a digital tuner. I guess that's why it had such a high price tag.