Are Ceramic Caps Any Good For Audio?

Vinylcafe

Linvin' the Dream
Am am recapping an old TASCAM Portastudio 4 channel cassette deck.
The Record/Playback board is full of small value (22pf-330pf) ceramic capacitors.
I am no engineer, but have always read that this type of cap was kind of a lowest-common-denominator type of component.
Should I be replacing these with a film cap like WIMA, Vishay, etc?
Or do they poses properties that I want in the circuit and leave them alone?
On the other hand, was this a cost saving measure at the time, and would the deck benefit from a change-over?
Any thoughts welcome.

Most of the time depending on the application, they will be fine.

I think you find they aren't in the signal path. There may be some that could benefit from using a poly instead, ie: to get better stability across transistor leads etc, but my understanding is that this isn't often.

I'd say let them alone. They are good for many applications.

BTW, If you have further questions, I know those machines quite well, I fix them all the time. I have 3 different portastudios in my shelf waiting for service right now.

BTW, If you have further questions, I know those machines quite well, I fix them all the time. I have 3 different portastudios in my shelf waiting for service right now.

Thanks elnaldo!
It's a 246 for my daughter.
All the rubber is ordered, will redo electrolytic caps board-by-board.
Good to know there's an expert in the house!

I rarely found bad electrolytic in this series. Just found bad caps in a 488 MKII power supply. Actually I never faced a recap in this machines due to labor costs, but doing it for yourself is different.

What I've found was dirty relays and worn input selector switches. I usually remove all the mini relays , open them and clean the contacts, and replace any switch that keeps giving trouble after cleaning it.

Yeah, that is on the list for sure.
A lot of pots, faders, relays and switches in the signal path.