Are we ever really happy with our gear?

Bourbon

Drinkin' and dreamin'
Subscriber
First, I'm new to vintage audio, and am a devout browser of the AK site. I've noticed that a LOT of folks here are constantly buying, selling, and collecting audio gear. It's not that I think that to be a bad thing (as I've been doing it a bit myself), but I just wonder: is there anyone out there who is truly happy with their current setup and has no intention of upgrading? I just ask because I think I'm happy with my current setup.

Yes, I am thrilled with my stuff. I have no intention of upgrading. What I buy at thrift stores or build myself, I do to experiment and play and have fun. I have no desire for anything 'better' than what I have; I'm easily pleased, I guess.

Well bourbon i'm getting closer to being happy with my gear after switching to tubes. but there seems to be no cure for upgraditus either. Seem to always be chasing the dragon sort to speak. sources, preamplifiers, power amplifiers, speakers, cables,turntables,cartridges,dacs it never really ends. you can always find something to be unhappy about. Let alone room treatments. Really goes on and on. But i'm too poor to afford the very best gear out there so i try to be happy with what i have.