[AT-LP120-USB] Having a problem with skipping at the end/start of each song.

MannyC

Hello, all! Noob here.

I've been beating my head against the wall with this one. I just purchased an AT-LP120-USB and so far it's been great, except for the fact that the audio cuts out/skips at the start/end of each song.

I've watched and read many tutorials about on setting up the tracking force and anti-skating (admittedly, it probably needs more fine tuning due to my inexperience) but for the life of me I can't find anyone with the same problem, and endless Google searches yielded no answers. I have tried just barely touching the headshell with my fingertip and it seems to fix the problem; adding more tracking force only makes it sound worse and doesn't really seem to fix it.

Everything is stock; I have the tracking force set to 2.0g as per the manual, and set the anti-skating to the same or less. Checked that the turntable is level. The three different records I've tried have all been brand new.

Thanks for the help in advance! Hopefully I didn't miss anything...

I'm confused - does it physically skip like in groove jump, or is it just cutting out?

As always, please get away from the internal phono amp as quickly as you can. It is barely marginal at best. If it is a problem cutting out, I suggest an ART Phono Pre. It will work well with this table and is a quantum jump in sound quality over the internal amp.

It's the internal amp I'm using. Everything plays fine until the quiet portions between songs and then it starts cutting out or jumping. If I put a tiny bit of pressure on the headshell, it plays fine.

If you balance the tonearm (zero it), does it stay in one place or swing to the spindle or the platter edge?

Do you have a tracking force gauge?

Have you tried a different stylus?