AU-717 restoration

elara

Classic Rock and HI-FI
I love the vintage audio but I am a beginner restoring them, so I apologize in advance for any fool sentence or question. (And for my poor english too)

Some few months ago, my dear Sansui AU-717 began with a audio problem by enhancing the midtones in the left channel and yesterday, the audio in the right channel began to be distortioned and almost not sound.

I am a lover of these machines, but I live in Chile at the end of the world, where there are no quality components and I dont want to risk a repair of poor quality, so I'm taking courage to attempt repair / restoration by myself with valuable help of all who want support me.

My amp has never failed before, I think it is best to do a restore, starting to change all components which are tipically degraded by the years.

As a first step in this challenging project, I plan to build a list in Excel that contains all the information needed to order the parts and that will be useful for other people who want to do their own restoration projects in the future.

I already have both the AU-717 service manual and the Sansui CPL, even so, I cannot find the specs (and part number) for a lot of parts, as such as the electrolytic Capacitors (E.C), several resistors, etc.

If would possible, Could you please explain me, how to find out (in these service Sansui manuals or wherever), the specs and part number for example for the C606 capacitor or the R15 resistor?

(Without looking that part installed in PCB, because in many cases, the amp could have installed a not genuine part, that was changed before you received it)

Here I left the Excel that I am making.

Thanks a lot.

Attachments

• AU-717 Restoration part list.zip
    9.1 KB · Views: 182
This model is victim to the corrosive glue problem, check out the power supply boards and the amp boards specifically for glue that has corroded components (usually adjacent to large capacitors) and add them to your parts list.