AU 7900 No sound, no 'click'

homeydcat

I'm a newbie so be patient.

I recently found an AU 7900 and 4 speakers listed under a curb alert on CL. I was astounded to find this amp for free. The lister said he thought it worked last time he used it 2 years ago. I couldn't wait to hear it. But I patiently took the amp apart and thoroughly cleaned it inside and out. I removed the faceplate and cleaned all switches and pots with a good non-residue contact cleaner. After polishing and even waxing (I know) the faceplate I put it all back together. I then connected a CD player and a pair of speakers to test. Turned the unit on, power light lit .... nothing. No 'click' from the amp and no output. Tried other RCA jack inputs, turned and/or flipped all knobs .... still nothing. When I had it apart I carefully inspected for blown caps, leaking caps, blown fuses, etc. There was no discoloration, smell or anything I could see out of the ordinary.

My question is now that I've looked for the obvious, what is my next step short of giving to someone else to fix? The lister is long gone so I can't ask him anything. I have years of experience soldering but my experience ends there. I have no formal background in electronics and don't own a scope. I'm sure I have a meter or 2 around somewhere and I could follow someone else's instructions in looking for the problem. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

P.S. I've included some pics. There is one area on the back that shows some moisture contact in the past. This seems its only flaw.

Attachments

• IMG_0013.JPG
    IMG_0013.JPG
    64.6 KB · Views: 47
  • IMG_0014.JPG
    IMG_0014.JPG
    99.1 KB · Views: 35
  • IMG_0015.JPG
    IMG_0015.JPG
    123.1 KB · Views: 45
  • IMG_0016.JPG
    IMG_0016.JPG
    118.7 KB · Views: 40
First and foremost Awesome Find!!!!, I know little about repairs but I'm sure someone will be by shortly to share their knowledge.