Audio Technica AT-15SS beryllium cantilever assembly repair: success!

Caballo

Long time lurker, first time poster.

Some of you might know this vintage AT cartridge series, a great MM design with a beryllium cantilever and super tiny shibata that's rare as hen's teeth.

Imagine my dismay when, during an attempt to correct what looked like a slightly off-center rotation of the cantilever, the assembly came apart at the filament that holds the suspension together.

Luckily, I am a mechanical engineer and prototyper and am generally unintimidated by broken anything. Careful examination revealed that the filament and the anchor that attaches via the "compliance adjustment screw" have little to no bearing on the effective tip mass of the stylus. This meant that whatever solution I could come up with to hold the thing together would not change the sound appreciably, freeing me up to come up with something buildable.

That solution? Monofilament, 8 lb test, 0.012" thick, and superglue. Could have probably used 4 lb test (0.008" thick) but it's hard to come by and would have been that much harder to work with.

The first step was to glue one end of the monofilament to the end of the cantilever, which, thankfully, ends in a disk-shaped boss. I used a nail file to ensure the monofilament end was more or less perpendicular to the length. Pointy, curved electronics tweezers were essential tools, as was good lighting and a magnifying glass.

After letting it cure for about an hour, I fed the rubber suspension bushing through. It is designed to fit flush with the cantilever boss, so you must avoid using too much glue, which would form a hard fillet that the rubber can't fit around.