Audio-Technica AT95E vs Shure M91ED

EvolJ

To start with my setup is a Marantz 2230B receiver, a Pioneer PL-570 TT and Infinity SL 40 speakers. My old TT was a Pioneer PL-10. The PL-10 has a Shure M91ED cart installed. When I got the PL-570 it came with an unknown model AT cart. I went ahead and bought a new AT95E and replaced the unknown AT. I love the TT but the sound coming out of it was a little flat from what I was used to with the PL-10. So I switched the headshell from the PL-570 to the PL-10 and played it and I got the same sort of sound. Then I put the headshell with the Shure cart from the PL-10 onto the 570 and wham! There was so much more detail and a brighter sound than the AT cart. I could feel the punch in the music again. By the way the unknown AT cart that came with the TT had the same sort of flat sound. Which is why I bought the AT95E in the first place.

I am still learning about turntables and the pieces of stereo equipment. So can someone please explain to me what the difference is between these two carts?

Thanks

J

I have both and the 95 can be upgraded. The 91ED is one of my all time favorites due to being raised on it-so I know it well and also can be upgraded. I would keep um both. Enjoy!

From my experience, AT 95E sounds way too bright, squeaky with excessively high tones, where on the other hand Shure M75 (and 91) both sound much warmer, more natural. The kind of sound you would expect to hear from a turntable IMO. This is entirely personal experience, obviously... There are folks out there who praise & adore AT 95E, but I'm not one of them.