Audiophile noob with a treasure that will blow some minds.

Heil Heir

When I say that I am an audiophile noob with a treasure I mean just that. I am married to the grandauhter of Oskar Heil, and I live in Oskar Heil's house.

I'm not sure if I have all or just most of Oskar's personal equipment, as it is very possible that the higher end stuff went to his daughter, my mother in law.

As I say, I'm a noob, so I'm not exactly sure how to make the best of the equipment I currently have or how attaching my crappy Panasonic CD player, Playstation 3, or old school Phillips HD TV to the pre-existing equipment could make it better or worse.

I'll list what's in the living room and you guys be the judge.

Analogue Engineering Associates Analogue 520 Stereo Preamplifier. Apparently made in the mid 70's. Here's a link to a youtube video review from some guy. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wzz60bAkp1U

Heil AMT (Air Motion Transformer) Aulos Speakers
http://www.precide.ch/test/Heil/e_aulos.htm

Onkyo T4055 Solid State AM/FM Tuner
circa 1970-1973

Threshold Model S-150 stasis linear state amplifier overall feedback free.
75w x 2, 38 lbs, released 1980

We also have all sorts of handmade AMT speakers, tweeters etc.

One thing in the garage that I'd like to hook up at some point, appears to be a handmade bass that looks like a coffee table. My wife says that it's not necessary because the Aulos has great bass, but I've read others say that the bass may be lacking. I think that she just doesn't want to place it in the living room as it is larger than a bread box.

Cheers.

:yikes:

Welcome aboard! Post some pictures when you get a chance. Stick around and you will just about everything you can about what you have.

Welcome to AK! You certainly have a running start with all that gear. I've been a fan of Heil AMT's since I bought my first pair of ESS in '76. I'd love to see some pictures.