B1 Amp Precautions and Recommendations

basil13

A customer brought in the C1/B1/UC1 combo for me to repair the C1 and go over the B1. I have never worked on these before, but repaired the C1.

The B1 is working, but does run hot. After researching the B1 I understand there are a number of parts with no substitutes.

I am a technician with experience on various vintage pieces but not a B1. Additionally, since the B1 is valuable with unobtainium parts, the various warnings in the service manual and in the forums, it makes me hesitant to work on it.

How difficult are these beasts to work on? What should I be cautious with or doing? What would be a good and low risk check on it's health?

Thanks.

I would venture to say that if you were able to fix the C-1, you should do fine restoring the B-1.

What was wrong with the C-1?

The B1 is working, but does run hot.
The B-1 does run hot. There's no getting around that due to the higher 2SK77 bias setting and all of the PS regulation and protection circuitry.

As a bare minimum it would be a good thing to replace the electrolytic caps in it; lots of them are located near hot components and by now are likely suffering from that.

The -200V supply is absolutely critical to keeping the amp alive and as such there's a big cap mounted to the chassis rear that's worth changing after its 40 years of service.

Another weak point in the B-1 can be the dual main caps which are difficult to replace since they're no longer made.

If you're plugging the circuit boards in and out, before doing so always make sure to discharge the main caps and the -200V cap although that 1 bleeds away fairly quickly.

Also, don't rely no the service manual or the schematic because they're full of errors!

The list goes on and on. You'll find lots of useful info here if you do a search.