BA-3000 Died Last Night

cirtcele

I was playing my system last night heard static out of one of the speakers then the thump of the protection circuit turning on. I turned the amp off then back on and the main fuse blew i'm guessing thats not good. So now i need advice on things to check and any good repair shops. Switched my speakers to my tube amp and they sound fine so no problems there.

Anyone with experience working on this unit willing to walk me thru troubleshooting the problem. I'm a electrician with an education in electronics i took the maintenance electrician route instead of repair tech so i'll need some help.

I have experience in the BA 2000 & AU 20K.. There are some BA-3K things that are that model specific... I ( Like others here ) would be wiling to help..

First things first.....For this ... make a DBT ( Dim bulb tester ) ..LOTS of how to's here... do a search..

2nd open up an account at HI FI engine It;s FREE and download the schematic. http://www.hifiengine.com/

3rd DO NOT ATTEMPT any more power ups until you have a working DBT...

4th Clean up a NICE working space to start opening the unit up and start taking detailed pictures...

( This should keep you busy for a while )

Mike

OH I NOW remember you...... we had the 4 ohm vs 8 ohm power discussion....
And you had popping / static issues prior..

Question... where these Sansui pieces "RESTORED" prior to your ownership?
OR
Are they ORIGINAL ??

Mike

I know of two versions of the BA-3000.

One has pass-through solder joints (vias) on the amp boards.
They need to be checked and repaired if you have that model.

You need to pull the amp blocks and unsolder the output connections and split the amp block to get to the boards.

Once there, if you have the vias, you need to suck the solder out of them, make a short piece of copper wire to pass through the hole, scrap a little coating off the trace on each side, insert and bend the copper wire to the bare trace and solder it in.