Battle of the Integrateds: AU-9500 and AU-717

john_w

Miscreant
Johny asked me to mention what I thought of the 717 once I got it, so I thought a comparison with the older Sansui I've been using for many, many years might be useful in general, to kind of hilight the difference between early and late 70's models. So, after staying up FAR TOO LATE moving cables and wires back and forth, flipping toggles, turning knobs, pushing buttons and just listening to things last night, I've at least formed a "general" opinion.

I'm also interested in what some of you guys that have seen and heard almost everything Sansui (such as Beatlefred, etc.) think about this review: Do you concur with this, or should I get my hearing checked?

System (simplified set-up for comparison purposes):
Speakers -- Phase Research Model R's

Source -- Pioneer combination Laserdisc player / CD Changer.
(I don't recall the model number -- rest assured it's NOT top-
end equipment for CD's, but it does a fair job.)

Performance: I'm going to list a few areas where I think the older 9500 excels beyond the 717, but before you think I'm declaring the 717 to be inferior, I have to say that it produced a much warmer, richer sound than the 9500, and that's really the bottom line. Acoustic guitars and orchestras sound VERY impressive on that amp! And it knows how to rock, too! :D The 9500 seems to put out more treble with tone controls defeated, and has just a slight tinny sound in comparison. I seem to get roughly the same treble output on the 717 with the tone control at +2 to +4 db (rolling off at 6 khz.) The 717 also seems to have a slightly smoother tonal quality.

Cosmetics: Style isn't quite as important to me as substance, but it runs a close second. The 717 does look nice; a lot like my brother's early-80's Yamaha.