Best place to learn electronics and stereo repair for a total noob?

bane.oh

Hi everyone,

I have been building my HiFi system for some time now, and I think I am finally satisfied with the results. My system largely consists of gear I have purchased second hand over the years. Most of it has been serviced and upgraded by qualified technicians, but I know with older gear something eventually goes wrong. I have been eager to dip my toe in to learning to solder and read circuit diagrams so I can attempt to repair and maybe mod some of my existing gear but I don't know the best place to start.

I recently picked up an old Magnavox console with a tube amplifier. I would love to bring it back to it's former glory, and since it is from 1960 or so I figure it would be a simple place to start. Of course I know it can be dangerous, and I have read all about the precautions, but before I get too deep I want to get some basic knowledge of circuit boards and all the funny symbols and such. Where should a freshman like me start down this path? Thanks!

If you are the self-taught type, absorb these two tomes and you will be a long way toward your goal:

https://www.amazon.com/Art-Electron...137679&sr=8-1&keywords=The+Art+of+Electronics
51oDPY4SbfL._SX380_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

https://www.amazon.com/Handbook-Ele...ndbook+for+electronics+engineering+technician
51GUJR3Yw2L._SX392_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Enjoy,
Rich P

If you're basically starting from zero I think the Make Electronics series offers a good basic experience. Easily digestible learning that's hands on. In my opinion self learning only through denser text works for those have a closely related experience with the subject.

Make will allow you to get familiar with components and to build circuits. Progress onto the next Make level or give the NEETS a read or both. Tube stuff after getting comfortable with building solid state circuits.