Best Tuner Ever??

QualityAudio

I saw an Adcom pre on ebay that has an amazing tuner. I want to bid on it but the seller, Cape Ann Audio, has a pretty shady reputation per Google search. reports about broken gear being delivered etc. Just wondering how they would have a good ebay reputation if people are complaining about them elsewhere. Are the ebay rating false? It is rigged?

Anyway, love the adcom piece and want some community reassurance that Cape Ann Audio arent too shady.

KentTeffeteller is right. There is nothing "amazing" about the Adcom tuner, and it has tended to be failure prone. The accompanying preamp is nothing special either. You would be better served looking elsewhere. As for Cape Ann audio, I have no experience with them, but where there is smoke, there tends to be fire. Caveat Emptor.

I can't believe that ebay still allows of Cape Ann Audio to sell! I never bought anything from them. I dodged a bullet. But I once asked them a courteous, intelligent question about a receiver via email, and got a hate letter signed "David and Colleen" in response. I see on Google that many people have had the same experience. Their ebay pages contain info copied and pasted from other sources, so they may seem knowledgeable at first glance, but they are actually ignorant of basics. For example, they don't understand that there is a difference between an amp's continuous rating and its peaks or dynamic headroom.

Last edited:
I had poor luck with my adcom pre/tuner. The preamp was fine, but the tuner fell silent, and I've seen and heard of others doing the same).

As far as the vendor goes... Cape Ann is probably not the best place to make that purchase or any others for that matter.
I shared my Cape Ann Experience here: http://www.audiokarma.org/forums/showpost.php?p=4993293&postcount=30
( unfortunately the thread was shut down shortly after, so I won't re-post it here. but it's worth taking a look at).