Better woofer for Optimus STS-620

johnr66

I have a set of these speakers I bought 12 years ago or so. The sound a little boomy/boxy to my ears. It has a 6-1/2 woofer. I measured the cabinet to be .41 Cu/ft internal and has a 2" dia port that is 2" long in the back.

I have some experience tweaking large speakers, but not these smaller ones. Can I expect much by installing a better woofer and maybe closing or modding the port? If I can flatten out the response and maybe extend the bass a bit, I'd be happy.

sts620.jpg

I have a set of these speakers I bought 12 years ago or so. The sound a little boomy/boxy to my ears. It has a 6-1/2 woofer. I measured the cabinet to be .41 Cu/ft internal and has a 2" dia port that is 2" long in the back.

I have some experience tweaking large speakers, but not these smaller ones. Can I expect much by installing a better woofer and maybe closing or modding the port? If I can flatten out the response and maybe extend the bass a bit, I'd be happy.

sts620.jpg
Better? Not necessarily. Porting might be the issue, based on how you describe the sound. Try stuffing a sock or something that allows less air (manner of speaking) to escape. Sometimes plugging the opening entirely produces results people enjoy. Negative side? May loose some bass extension and some efficiency. Won't hurt anything to try. If that don't work, then look into other drivers. Oh, check to see what kind of crossover is used, if any. That may shed some light on things.

Okay, I stuffed socks into the ports. It sounds about the same without the bass extension. I decided to remove the woofer. It is direct driven and the the tweeter has a very small cap. I can't read its value because of the way it is glued down.

The woofer has a decent sized magnet, but not as big as some of the better ones. I'm told smaller magnets will mean a higher Qts value and this can be problematic for smaller enclosures.

I'll have to try my hand at matching drivers for these small enclosures.