Bias Adjust on MA 6100

tonefoto

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Is there anybody out there that can advise on adjusting bias and dc balance on a Mcintosh MA 6100? I see 4 trimmers and holes to get at them on a pcb behind the faceplate. I can't find anything online about the procedure though. Thanks for any tips or advice. I am new to Mcintosh gear.

Hello tonefoto

You are new to MCINTOSH gear and you are right to post your question before to do anything wrong !

1) there is no BIAS and OFFSET adjustement possible on MA6100 . I always read post from users looking for bias adjustments in their units ! adjusting bias will not change the sound of your amplifier so stop to try to touch it .
Bias adjustment should be made only when your amplifier is serviced no other reason. Most important detail for your knowledge, you need a minimum of tool and material to do it correctly which is not the case for final customers (or owners) .
2) to answer to your question : don't touch these adjustments that you can see on the long board behind the front panel . They are factory adjustments about tone treble and bass adjustments and have nothing regarding the bias or offset !
Bias is "automatic" on MA6100 and offset is not ajustable .

You do not want to mess with the tone control gain pots unless you have access to a signal generator.

In fact I do not believe you should try to service a Mac unless you have a distortion analyser and a ocsiliscope.

Are you trying to solve a problem with the MA6100? The circuit deigns that Mac used in their early transitor amps are quite different than those used by the mass market Asian companies. Many of the "rules" written elsewhere in AK forums do not apply to them, and similarly things we do with Macs that do not apply to their contempories.

You do not want to mess with the tone control gain pots unless you have access to a signal generator.