Buzz's intepretation of Pete Millet's Starving Student Headphone Amp

BuzzK

AK Member
Subscriber
I was selling a bunch of odd tubes and have a few NOS 19J6 medium-mu twin triodes left.

Trying to figure out what they were good for, I discovered Pete Millett's "Starving Student Headphone Amplifier" - a hybrid project using MOSFETs driven by the triodes. Kinda like a NYAL Moscode amp, only smaller. :)

Here is a link to photos, and from there, complete parts list, schematic, etc. http://www.pmillett.com/starving_gallery.htm

I thought . . . perfect! . . . since I'm now a starving student (paying for 3 in college, 3 cars, etc.) I'll build this.

I found this cute little enclosure from China on eBay for about $15 delivered. It's tiny, and nothing really fits right without some real effort, but I couldn't resist the challenge. The 48V external power supply cost something like 12 bucks delivered from China as well.

For example, I dug up a pair of RCA input jacks from my junk box, molded into a single piece of plastic, that will fit in the holes. I made a standard SPDT switch fit into the aperture (JB Weld is gonna help here), and the power jack will be soldered to a PCB that will be anchored to the bottom panel. I had a small stereo jack that will work in the hole provided, but putting a 1/4" standard jack will require some metal work.

Anyway . . . 'cause I really hate doing my homework, and I have ADHD . . .

Hybrid HPA Parts.jpg

Last edited:
Looks great...keep 'em coming. Hunter S. Thuompson would have been proud!

20161201_113439.jpg Cool! I went the lazy route with mine. Looks to be about the same size. Mine came with some God awful 6j9's I swapped out with some GE JAN's, cant remember the number, but it sounds good. Same thing, tubes driving sand. Its amazing how much they stuffed into such a small box. Hope you have tiny fingers. :D

My wife says I have "Donald Trump" hands. I wonder what she means?