C-26 Re-Cap

skippy_ps

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Bought a near mint C-26, non working. One side of one filter cap was dead and both sides of the other filter cap were dead (both caps are 2 section). After some head scratching and em's to Terry, I pulled both filter caps and hot glued 2 470uf caps on top replacing the 2 200uf sections and used a sticky tab and tie wrap to hold down two 330 uf caps replacing the other sections which were 200uf and 50uf. The schematic says that these 2 sections are both 160uf but what the heck. Here's how it looks on top.

Not quite so neat on the bottom, but, hey I'm an amateur. Even though it may not make a lot of sense to use snap-in caps here, it's actually easier as there's a ready made place to solder all those pesky wires to. Way more selection of snap-in caps than axial caps in sorta high voltage (200v) too.

Right channel phono is dead and so far no luck in finding the problem. All audio caps replaced with Nichicon Muse and Black Gate, in place of tantalum caps.

Mucho thanks to Terry for guidance in getting this going. Sounds great with MC-2002 and Vandy 1's :smoke:

Murray

Nice job! Looks like you put plenty of consideration into doing it right, neat, and well. Truely in McIntosh style.