C33 rear outlet question

ninohernes

Analog Freak
How many amps can the black switched outlets handle? I would like to connect my power amp to one of these. According to the spec sheet, my power amp (Eico HF-89) draws 270 watts at full output. This is not really a concern, since the outlets can handle up to 1200 watts. However, my amp draws 5 amperes of current, and the spec sheet for the C33 does not tell how many amps the switched outlets can handle.

Va=w

5 amps is about 600 watts and 270 watts is about 2.25 amps, both at 120v.

Anyway, the usual rule of thumb is to plug your amp directly into the wall. However, you're well within limits plugging your amp into the back of the pre-amp. Without looking it up, I would guess that the C-33 doesn't draw more than about 50 watts max under normal use.

Murray

skippy_ps said:
5 amps is about 600 watts and 270 watts is about 2.25 amps, both at 120v.

I am a recording engineer, and I am well aware of that formula, that is why I found the spec sheet for my amp so strange... However, it doesnt state the conditions of the measurment. It probably only draws 5 amps at startup, while the tubes are warming up.

The only reason I want the amp plugged into the preamp is so I can switch them both on at the same time. The switch on my amp is in the back, where it is hard to get too. What I might do is try to find the McIntosh speaker controler, which has outlets on it for the power amp which are controled by the preamp. I could just use it for the power switching, and not use the speaker switching feature, since I dont need it.

Last edited: