1. Time for some upgrades in server hardware and software to enhance security and take AK to the next level. Please contribute what you can to sales@audiokarma.org at PayPal.com - Thanks from the AK Team
    Dismiss Notice

Can anyone identify these unmarked Infinity speakers??

Discussion in 'Infinity Loudspeakers' started by 0Hz, Oct 13, 2018 at 11:28 PM.

1. 0Hz

0Hz Active Member

I was in a local thrift store today and saw a set of Infinities. I don't know their dimensions but they are a 3-way large bookshelf type.

They have NO stickers or other badging on them aside from the inifinty logo on the speaker covers. I think they may have been wall-mounted as there are a couple screw-holes in the back near the top corner edges. The backside has a groove like a panel is meant to be pried off but I don't know if this is real or simulated wood.

It almost looked plastic? I'm no expert as far as that goes. They were closing so I only had time to grab a couple pics nothing thorough. They are asking $23.99 per speaker, however the woofers need refoaming (??) from the looks of it.

The speakers themselves definitely had some "weight" to them. I mean I was surprised how heavy they were when I picked them to turn them around and look for markings, etc.

Would these potentially be worth going back for?

I think they are "Infinity Reference Three" ??

IMG_0052[1].JPG

IMG_0053[1].JPG

IMG_0054[1].JPG

Please register to disable this ad.

2. 0Hz

0Hz Active Member

Hmm yeah I believe these are in fact Reference Three's

I guess the only question is, it the repair job going to be something I am capable of, and how cheap will it be to get the needed parts.

3. CDELON

CDELON Member

Look on the top of the back plate where you connect your speaker wire. The model is usually pressed in the upper lip.

4. cemerson

cemerson AK Subscriber Subscriber

5. 0Hz

0Hz Active Member

I will see if I can do that when I go back on Monday. Honestly I don't think anything is there though.