Canton LE 400

Tony124

Hi,

today I saw a pair of Canton LE 400 at a garage sale and got them for 7 EUR. I did a quick test when I got home and one seems ok, the second one has kind of distorted/muddy sound. I opened both to take a look inside, here are the photos if you are interested:

https://imgur.com/a/NIi2K

Do you think it is possible to repair the speaker, and is it worthwhile? I have very little experience in this area, can do at least things like soldering, replacing capacitors etc.

Regards,
Tony

With those fender washers holding the woofers, it's obvious that someone has been inside these speakers before.

Regarding the sound, It's likely that this can be repaired. My first guess would be that the capacitors need replacing. I'd do them in both speakers even though one is still currently working. However, before you do this, it might be worth trying swapping the drivers from one cabinet to the other and see if the problem stays with the cabinet or moves with the drivers.

yes I have also noticed I am not the first one who opened the speakers. I will try out your suggestion and see what comes out.

Part of your problem is that the woofers are not original. I'll have to do a little looking but I am fairly sure that they should have a 2216 woofer. It would normally be mounted with the "wings" of the frame placed directly over the studs.There would also be a small plastic bushing between the frame and cabinet for a spacer.

Canton 2216_1.jpg
Canton 2216_2.jpg

Cheers,
James

Last edited:
thanks James, very valuable information. The finding about non-original woofers is very spot on; it makes me considering hard if it's worthwhile to spend time on repairing these boxes. The original woofers you mentioned (Canton 2216) cost about 40,-/pair on ebay.de. What is your opinion/recommendation?

Hi Tony. Something that I forgot to say. Welcome to Audiokarma! :)