Capture 930 problems?

centsless

I purchased a ten inch Capture 930 two days ago from a big seller on the Bay. Yesterday, I get a full refund with an explanation that they are running into issues with this product and check back as they attempt to resolve it.

Is anyone else having this issue? Thanks...

for me, so far so good for the 4 7" inch 930's I bought from directly from splicit. com just 2 weeks ago. I'm not an expert so I will be watching this thread for more info.

for me, so far so good for the 4 7" inch 930's I bought from directly from splicit. com just 2 weeks ago. I'm not an expert so I will be watching this thread for more info.

Guess no one buys Capture. Haven't heard anything back so looking for other ideas for recording tape.

I am new at this. This Akai GX-650D was given to me. There was a Maxwell 10" tape with it that was poorly recorded. I recorded over this tape and about fell down when I played it. It sounded incredible and now has 1 1/2 hrs of music on it...:) I bought the Capture 930 on the recco of others here so I can record more. It is about half done and it sounds pretty good also. Still learning my way around this unit....but I enjoy it.

Just set it up and used it. I have controls for speed, input volume, a control for low hiss or wide dispersion, and a SOS (sound on sound) control that I have yet to find out what it does. At 7 1/2 speed, it is recording nicely. Still learning some stuff on it.

An average but healthy tape calibrated correctly to the recording deck will sound much better than a high end tape recorded on a deck not calibrated for it. At a minimum 100hz, 1khz and 10khz need to be set flat (4dbV) to within +/- .5 db.