Career change at 56 and outta work- suggestions?

tybrad

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
I am not trying to air-out or explore my situation- just looking for help to orient myself in the central MD job market.
I am a former HS physics teacher- BS in physics and education, MA in STEM education.

I am at a loss as to what I would be qualified to do and will be looking outside of education now.

Any ideas? Engineering has become too specialized from what I can see. Someone at Grumman told me though, that I might be considered for (non IT) Systems Engineering there, but no openings at the moment.

Tyler

Well what do you like to do?
What are your interest?
What other things do you know about, that you feel your good at?

I'll assume you have some sort of pension from teaching.

Is there a level of pay that would not make ends meet for you, like needing $50,000 a year and up to kinda generalize a pay scale.

Some pension. As a former science teacher, that (scitech) is my thing. I only have cursory electronics experience in rehabbing vintage stuff with MUCH help from AK'ers. What I do is mindful, exacting, OCD to fit and finish of whatever the job entails- in general, a conscientious employee.

I do not know what I want to do. I am in good physical shape and high elevation working does not phase me. The situation is, though, that I need ~50K a year to maintain lifestyle, with cutbacks.

At this stage of my working life academic schooling is out, trade training is not my first choice (money is EXTREMELY tight as I stopped earning in June and my wife was laid off in Nov '16 and had a cascade of medical issues that have only just now allowed for unemployment benefits and job searching).