Cat5e wiring for whole house audio

donnieaudio

Hello, My house is completely hard wired with cat5e networking cable (1 port every room including basement and attic) all the wiring terminates at a hub in the basement. I do not use the hub or cat5e because of the wireless networking that I have.

I was wondering if I could use the cat5e wiring to install a whole house audio system and send digital audio to each room. I guess each room would need a volume control and an amplifier to send to the audio to the speakers.

I also would like to know if each room could play different music from other rooms.

It looks like there may be systems out there that do this but I am new to this and a bit lost. Any help in finding a system or even if this is possible would be a great help.

Thanks, Don

I was wondering if I could use the cat5e wiring to install a whole house audio system and send digital audio to each room.
First step would be to include it in your network. Think of it as another access point for your wireless.

II guess each room would need a volume control and an amplifier to send to the audio to the speakers..I also would like to know if each room could play different music from other rooms.
Because this is digital data, you cannot simply install an attenuator as you would with an analog speaker wire. No more than you can with your current wireless. You will need a digital player in each room in order to do that. It could be an inexpensive Raspberry Pi player, Sonos, Apple Play, etc. Finally, you will need to decide where to host the music itself whether stored locally on each player on an SD card or centrally located (as I do) on a computer attached to the network.

For what it's worth in the thought process....

You can 100% successfully send AES audio over twisted pair like Cat 5. I don't immediately know of a consumer product to help do this as economically as possible. But most don't know of this ability, so I thought I'd mention it.