CD Recorder trouble. :/

dr. eric

"old at heart"
Tell me where I went wrong. I've been using this Cd Recorder for maybe almost 2 years, and then probably early last spring or late last winter I stopped using the recording function because well, I had made enough Cds from enough Vinyl recording that I was satisfied, and now, a few weeks ago when I tried to start using the recording function again, It doesn't want to work. It will for for about half an hour IF I'm lucky, then it stops recording and says TOC Error C14. this means there is a table of contents error, I've never used the TOC feature and never plan to, I know what the songs I listen to are called and I'm not going to title them by texting them one by one on the remote. Why is the machine doing this? I've checked for vibrations and everything, but to me it seems like it reaches a certain point on the disc and just decides to stop, as well as, anything I had recorded up to that point is erased...So I'm wasting my time as well as countless Cds...you can't re record over them even if they're "blank" Someone help me, maybe you know of a much better CD Recorder. it is a Sony RCD W500c

I had a similar issue when I was using a Pioneer 509 recorder. No TOC errors but it would just arbitrarily stop recording and ruin the disc. Finally figured out it was only acting up when my refrigerator was cycling on...they were not plugged into the same circuit? I plugged the recorder into the PS Quinet the rest of the stereo was plugged into and never had another issue!