Change oil cold or warm- which is better?

restorer-john

Addicted Member
Forgive me if this is a dumb question, but is it better to drain & change oil when the engine is cold (normal 25 degrees C) and all at the bottom of the engine (more likely to get it all out?) or when the engine is warm (not hot as I don't want to get burnt undoing the filter and drain plug) so it 'flows' more freely out of the engine?

I can see benefits each way. What do you experts do?

I'm no expert, but I've always performed this maintenance with the engine at operating temp. I can't imagine the minute amount of dirty oil left from this could be problematic, especially with a filter change at the same time.

I've always done it warm.

I guess it goes quicker.

In the old days, the old engines, having the oil warm are stirred should flush out more particles since they are still in suspension.

A cold engine has had time to drain down and they would be less oil still coating moving parts so when you start the engine, waiting for the oil to reach all the oil points would mean longer wear with low to no oil.

I don't think it really matters as long as you don't wait to do it every 20000-40000 miles.
(YES some people never change the oil)

Warm. Oil is thinner, and flows easier. Take the car for a drive, put it up on stands or ramps, then make yourself a cup of tea or coffee. That should give everything a chance to cool down enough to not burn your hands. I don't know if anyone else does it, but find out how to crank your car without it firing, in order to get the new oil circulated. On my Merkur, if you try and start it with your foot to the floor, it won't. On older cars, take a wire off the distributor. Newer cars might not like that though, or they may have coils on each plug.

Lee.