Illegitimi non carborundum

2018 Christmas Dinner

Stuffed pork loin with maple bacon, cranberries, apples, goat cheese, herbs

Roasted brussels sprouts, pecans, rosemary compound butter

Sweet mashed potatoes

Banana Bread

Apple Pie

Sounds perfect.
We do Christmas eve here. Salmon, duck, Italian beef, roasted chicken stew, eggplant parmigiana, lasagna, and a bunch of sides, appetizers and deserts. House will be as stuffed as the guests.
Merry Christmas and thanks for sharing.

My menu for tomorrow:
* 5 bone choice standing rib roast roasted to medium rare
* Homemade mashed potatoes with brown gravy from pan drippings
* Green beans skillet seared & softened with butter, garlic salt and fresh cracked black pepper
* Oven browned yam slices
* Butter rolls

And two bottles of red wine:
* Bordeaux (Haut Medoc) I've been laying down for several years
* Napa Cabernet Sauvignon

My family has a Christmas tradition that's been going on for longer than I'v been alive. My mom's side of the family gets together Christmas Eve for gift exchange and our traditional Crab Cioppino dinner. It's also pretty common around San Francisco because of the Dungeness crab season is going on. Being Italian ours is a bit different, we make a plain spaghetti sauce and then last 20 minutes we put cracked crab, prawns and salad shrimp in to cook. This has been going on since my grand parents first got together and raised their kids. For it to taste it's best you have to get live crab, other wise they boil all the flavor out of it when they kill them in the stores.

Live Crab
IMG_1338.jpg IMG_1339.jpg

Dead Crab, but it was only in the hot water for about 90 seconds so it's not cooked

IMG_1342.jpg

Cleaned crab

IMG_1343.jpg

Crab all cut up and cracked

IMG_1398.jpg IMG_1399.jpg