Cleaning a Board

Superman541

I've got a printed circuit board with some spots on it. Flux, probably. I have been told I can carefully clean those dark spots. Indeed, I have heard folks say that alcohol should be used after DeOxit on electronic circuits to remove residue. What kind of alcohol would I use? I am out of isopropyl. I do have ethanol that is denatured with methanol.

Alcohol AFTER DeOxit? The 'residue' is supposed to be left there - on contacts anyway - to slow down further corrosion. But it does have oil in it, so I suppose if you got it all over a board, yes.

Sorry for the tangent.

Not being a PCB expert I hesitate to say, but I would think ethanol/methanol should be fine.

Alcohol (isopropyl or ethanol) on a Q-Tip if the board is installed.
Tuner cleaner work better...but it's a spray.

I use Pure Acetone, then Windex, and Water to finish, with a toothbrush in a vented area, don't touch Acetone or inhale vapors.

After that treatment, your PCB cannot be cleaner.

Simple Green, a soft brush and rinse in warm water is my usual method. I've pulled boards out of old CNC mills that were so covered in dirt that the components were unidentifiable. I mean caked on, black dirt that was baked on from years of running hot. Wash the boards and all there weird problems went away. Go figure.
I've never seen any audio gear that was even 5% that dirty.
If they contain trimmer pots I just make sure they bake in the sun or near something hot for at least an hour before reinstalling. Fixed many a machine this way.

BillWojo

Interesting. I sounds like I have nothing to worry about. Simple Green first, then acetone, then windex, then put it in the dishwasher, then Isopropanol, then then alcohol, then DeOxit. I'm kidding. Thanks for the perspective, folks. I'll probably use a Q-tip to carefully clean it with acetone, then alcohol. That should work. Or just alcohol.