cleaning deoxiting buttons 22xx series

sssboa

Hi

Is there any youtube video or post where I could see the best method to clean those spring buttons of 2270?

Thx,
Andy

There is a sticky thread about disassembling the switches near the top of this Marantz forum. Short of disassembling the switches, it's basically spraying Deoxit into the switch around the shaft in front followed by spraying into the small rectangular hole on the bottom of each switch. Of course, that requires opening the unit and removing the tone board to get access to the bottoms of several of the switches.

Yeah, thx. You think D100 will be good? It's the thick one with no solvent.
Do they need some lubrication as well besides cleaning?

Lots of opinions on that and I'm no expert. But I use Deoxit D5 on switches, followed by compressed air to minimize residue. On pots, I use Deoxit D5 followed by Faderlube F5, followed by compressed air to minimize residue. But there are lots of other ideas on the best way to clean them without doing damage.

Yeah, I just read the sticky. If I don't disassamble I will use D100 first, if this is not enouth then a contact cleaner with solvent, compressed air, and F100 at the end.
If I dissassemble then maybe simple isopropanol or other solvent followed by F100.

BTW. What lube/grease do you guys use? (No, don't mean in bedroom :)
I tried faderlube F100 but this is very thin, I can still feel the parts grinding against each other in pots, not smooth enough.
What about traditional brown thick grease? Any names?