Complete noob from Ontario, Canada

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by areilla10, Aug 12, 2017.

1. areilla10

areilla10 New Member

Hi everyone! I'm 100% new to electronics, and don't even know the basics of a complete set-up. I know I love good music, and my Bose that my MIL got us for Christmas sounds nice, but that's...about it. I remember my Dad had a nice stereo when I was a kid and it was flippin' loud. Hitachi I think? One of the old multi-component set-ups from the early 80's. My Aunt (his sister) was another audio aficionado. And I remember the old console record player we had in the 70's, too. I'd like to put together a nice system someday, but that's not what brings me here.

My daughter is building a tiny house, and bought an old camper trailer to strip down. We were looking through the rotting hulk of a thing, taking stock of any hardware or bits that could be reused. We thought the left-behind toaster oven was a total score, but our mouths fell open when we flipped open an overhead cabinet to find a Sansui 331 receiver and a Pioneer CT-606 cassette deck. SWEEEET!

The cassette deck powers up, lights work, FF and RW work, but I haven't hooked it up to anything yet.

The receiver, however, is going to be a basket case. Someone spliced the power cord (likely been chewed by mice), and I had to vacuum a ton of dead bug carcasses out of the guts of the thing or it was going to catch on fire if I powered it up. So anyway, once I got it cleaned out a bit, I put it back together and turned it on. Nothing. It's probably the mangled power cord, but God knows, it could be anything.

My daughter wants to sell them to fund her project; I'm just not sure if it's worth fixing them up first, or just selling them for parts. I'll be perusing the forums to see what I can find out. Looking forward to learning more!

Dave_1962 likes this.
  2. Hyperion

Hyperion Roobarb & Custard Subscriber

Welcome to AK!

3. Dave_1962

Dave_1962 Lunatic Member