Concept or Traveler? Need help making a decision

EastBayBill

Hey All,

I am new to member to this forum, but I have been reading other threads for quite some time and they have been helpful to me in the past. I have a new dilemma I would appreciate some input on. I have about $2000 to spend to upgrade my turntable. I currently have a Music Hall MMf 2.2 and want to upgrade to something that is much more durable and that I will be able to keep for years. I think I have narrowed things down to: VPI Traveler vs. Clearaudio Concept.

I recently listened to both at a local hi-fi shop. Both sounded awesome and I am truly torn. I like the VPI because it felt to be made of much higher quality materials than the Concept. (But maybe I am wrong?) Also, new VPI replacement motors and parts seem to be easier to obtain than the Concept, so that was another plus for me. I don't want to spend $2000 and have the motor die out in five years with few options at replacing it. However, I have heard problems about the VPI tonearms.

In regard to the Concept, I liked its crisp and detailed sound. I think it might also compliment the receiver I will be playing it through (see below). On the negative side, I heard problems about the Concept being overly sensitive to foot falls and I am not interested in doing some kind of wall-mount job.

Whatever table I end up getting, I will be playing it through a vintage Marantz 2240 with my refurbished Advent floor speakers. I know this mixing of "new/vintage" make some people cringe in here, but I don't have the cash right now to purchase a whole new system. My Marantz is in top shape and sounds great to me. The sound of my system right now is on the "warm and bass-y" side, which is fine with me. However, I don't think I want to get additional bass from my turntable. This is why I am thinking the Concept might be a good compliment to it.