Conrad Johnson PV7 preamp dead

naderpe

I'm new to tube gear and have a Conrad Johnson that is dead. Inspection found a 4 lead transistor of some sort by the transformer with a blow hole and a drop of solder hanging.
Does anyone have an idea for me to start to get this preamp up?
Thank,
Peter
:scratch2:

Sounds like a bridge rectifier. There may be an underlying problem that caused it to fail. A schematic would be helpful.

CJ PV-7 rectifier

It's a BR805D rectifier used in the filament and turn on delay power supply. Rated at 50 volts and 2 amps. If you can't find a schematic, send me a PM with your email address & I'll send you one that is nearly impossible to read but that's all I have.

Ron

Right you are...the part is marked BR805D. I think the thing to do is get a replacement and install it. Then power it up with my poor mans variac.
Any idea what company might sell the rectifier?
Peter

Thank You Bob and Ronald. Three hours after replacing the rectifier and the Conrad is still going strong.
Best to you,
Peter

CJ PV-7 rectifier

It's a BR805D rectifier used in the filament and turn on delay power supply. Rated at 50 volts and 2 amps. If you can't find a schematic, send me a PM with your email address & I'll send you one that is nearly impossible to read but that's all I have.

Ron
Hi Ron, I replaced the original Bridge Rectifier with a beefier Sylvania ECG169 - 2 amps and 600 volts. The preamp worked for more than a month and then the left and right channels began to distort a bit and fail. The only way I can get both channels to work is to lightly tap the board near the relay, or to manually actuate the relay myself. I don't think the new Sylvania Bridge Rectifier failed, do you? The correct current seems to be available everywhere else, and this is evident when I manually actuate the relay.. Why would there not seem to be enough voltage/current to the relay coil?