Crc electronics cleaner vs contact cleaner?

Crnelsen1

Is there a difference between crc contact cleaner and electronics cleaner? Messaged company was told they are interchangeable but the ingredients are different. Any input?

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    47.7 KB · Views: 158
Well, if that's what they said, write them back and ask for the MDS data sheets or product data sheets. They need to be a bit more clear.

If I had to make a choice, I'd go with the Contact Cleaner for metal-to-metal switching or similar contact. Electronic cleaner sounds more general purpose, although they're vague on the differentiation. Call 'em out!

Cheers,

David

I didn't even know they made the contact cleaner. I've only ever used the electronic cleaner, mostly because its what I can get off the shelf at the hardware or auto parts store.

I've had some experience with the red QD CRC in my business. It's used in the field as a 'cleaner' to clean wire harness connectors and linkage and some moving parts that get all gunked up with coin dust. One particular tech uses the spray on sealed bearings (I don't approve but, what do I know and, no one would listen anyway). It does a good job on certain applications as it dries fast and leaves no residue. I wouldn't use it for pots and switches on audio gear because I believe it would suck the lube from them. But it is cheap, at around $6.00 a can, so I'm told.

S.J.

This was there response indeed the cans contain different ingredients

Attachments

• image.png
    image.png
    165.4 KB · Views: 196
This was there response indeed the cans contain different ingredients