D.I.Y External VU - clarification needed.

nightcat23

This probably has been asked before, but I can't find any hard information on a D.I.Y. project I am wanting to do. I basically want to create an external Analog VU meter for my setup. I'm not looking for something accurate, just a visualization so to speak. Anyways, I'm no electrical engineer but I understand you can't just hook up a VU meter directly to speaker terminals and expect anything to happen. You need a driver board or some kind of electronic components to go between the meter and the output. I have seen a few driver boards on ebay such as these:

https://www.ebay.ca/itm/VU-Meter-Dr...463403?hash=item27fba29f6b:g:iZsAAOSwUuFW2A3B

https://www.ebay.ca/itm/DIY-KIT-Ana...888733?hash=item33d18b231d:g:hbkAAOSwvjdZUPpp

https://www.ebay.ca/itm/1x-NEW-VU-m...254565?hash=item2ca1641fe5:g:eFAAAOSwLqFV77SL

From what I can gather, I need a power supply to power this, as well as the wires to hook it all up. However I have a few questions on other aspects that I cannot figure out.

First of all, how do i know what type of power supply I would need? I figure this runs off dc so would need a transformer.

Second, how can you connect it to the output of the receiver/amp? It looks like these things have common ground, which seems kinda dangerous to hook up to the speaker out. Is there a possibility of hooking it up to a record output via rca? Since that's line level it makes more sense and won't be like the output meters I have on my yamaha amp.

My third and (hopefully) final question is regarding what actual meters I can use. Can re-purpose some vu meters from a tape deck or something, or do I need to purchase the ones that are sold on ebay as a kit? I find those are a little too small and would prefer to salvage some from an old tape deck or something.