DAC for streaming?

PackmanJim

I have a Marantz 1060 in my bedroom and I stream XM radio on it from my IPhone. I just have it plugged in with RCA cables. Would it help the quality if I hooked up a DAC? How do I hook it up? I've never used a DAC before so I appreciate the help.

I have a Marantz 1060 in my bedroom and I stream XM radio on it from my IPhone. I just have it plugged in with RCA cables. Would it help the quality if I hooked up a DAC? How do I hook it up? I've never used a DAC before so I appreciate the help.

A DAC is a pretty straight-forward device that converts a digital signal to analog. How exactly you hook it up depends on what you intend to use as a source, and if that source has a conventional digital output or not (almost no phones do).

Are you looking to still use your phone as the source, or are you looking to stream your XM radio from something else instead? You would need a device that can link to your phone, via Bluetooth or otherwise, or a device that can do XM on it's own. Those features have nothing to do with what a DAC does, so at that point you would either be looking for a device that has bluetooth (or can stream XM on it's own) as well as an integrated DAC, or a device that has bluetooth (or can stream XM on it's own) as well as a digital output that you can connect to a separate DAC.

One example would be; many TVs can connect to a phone via Bluetooth and many of those same TVs also offer digital output. So you could connect your Phone to your TV, then have the digital signal go from your TV to an external DAC. Then, of course, from the DAC into your Marantz.

What Chris said and check out the (Sonica DAC by oppo)

I would just hook up a Airport express to the 1060 and stream from the Iphone. Quality and wireless.

Eric