DAC (Total noobie warning!)

Njord Noatun

I got this cheapo Sony DVD player that I mostly intend to use for playing DVD movies: For audio (and right out of the box) it sounds pretty shrilll, although I am hoping that giving it a proper burn-in might help some. I figure it might be a good candidate to hook up to a DAC such as the much touted Entech Number Cruncher.

This is where my understanding of these things is pretty much exhausted:

How do I hook up the DAC to the the DVDP? Using the digital out/coax output on the DVDP? No need to mod or bypass anything internally in the DVDP?

Can I hook up more than one digial output device to one DAC (e.g., another DVDP) using some kind of digital switch hub? Which other devices have digital out that can be fed through a DAC - do any iPod docks have it?

Sorry for all the random questions - as I said, I am the DVDP/DAC noobie poster boy!

Thanks for any answers - random or not!

All the best,

Njord,

The Entech 205.2 has two coax "digital in" and one optical "digital in" so you can essentially hook up three devices- to via coax-digital, one via optical. Not 100% sure if the 203.2 has three as well- check before you buy.

If the sony has either an optical or digital coax "out", all you need to do is get a cable.

I will recommend that, regarding cables, go for a good one.

normally I don't pay much attention to this, but I've read extensively that an optical cable's quality has a big effect on the end result. Probably somewhat so for the digital coax on this too.

Seeing your Sony is coax digital out, you'd use that.

Other devices that use it are minidiscs, CD/DVD players, CD stand-alone transports, and although the iPod doesn't have an optical or digital out, there's a company that will modify it to.

How do I hook up the DAC to the the DVDP? Using the digital out/coax output on the DVDP? No need to mod or bypass anything internally in the DVDP?