Darlington Power Packs - Pioneer 780, Et al.

MarkW1973

I apologize for this duplicate post but I am new to AudioKarma and didn't even realize there was a Pioneer Forum until another user pointed it out. I found the following on the Web with respect to the SX-780 and would appreciate any input as to it's validity and whether or not this is applicable to the other SX-xxx models as well. Thank you! - Mark

"This receiver was MADE IN JAPAN (the only true collectable version) and also has the famed Darlington Power Packs. For those who don't know about the Darlingtons, when Pioneer first came out with this receiver, they used inferior output power packs. Pioneer soon learned of the problem and started using the Darlingtons early on in production." STK-0050 = Darlington Power Pack, whether it says "Darlington" on it or not.

At least one part is true. When I picked mine up it had one "Darlington" and one "RCA" STK0050. As for the rest, about the Darlingtons being an upgrade, I don't know. I think maybe all of the SX-780 receivers had 'em.

John

Last edited:
"This receiver was MADE IN JAPAN (the only true collectable version) and also has the famed Darlington Power Packs. For those who don't know about the Darlingtons, when Pioneer first came out with this receiver, they used inferior output power packs. Pioneer soon learned of the problem and started using the Darlingtons early on in production." STK-0050 = Darlington Power Pack, whether it says "Darlington" on it or not.

This sounds very dubious to me, a Darlington transistor is simply two "ordinary" transistors connected so that the output of the first is then amplified by the second, therefore giving higher gain than a single transistor could. The "quality" of a transistor or power pack is determined by a lot more factors than whether or not it is a Darlington configuration. The quote above makes it sound like a Darlington power pack is a particular make rather than how the transistors are arranged.